The Living Room Museum
The Living Room Museum
The Living Room Museum

A collection of Luxembourg 20th-century art
A collection of Luxembourg 20th-century art
A collection of Luxembourg 20th-century art

The exhibition showcases a collection of works by 20th-century Luxembourg artists, representative in more ways than one, which was compiled between the 1950s and the 1980s by a Luxembourg City resident.

The collection comprises 55 works, including two sculptures. In a first instance, it is a reflection of the development of art in Luxembourg from the turn of the century to the late 1960s. The collector owned works from the three successive waves that characterised art creation in Luxembourg: the paintings by Frantz Seimetz and Jean-Pierre Beckius are examples of the late Impressionist period, which dominated for a long time. Following the First World War, young Munich-schooled painters broke with the academism of their predecessors and started exploring modern art. The collection includes works by Nico Klopp, Joseph Kutter, Jean Schaack, Jean Noerdinger and Auguste Trémont, the main representatives of this “secession”. Abstract art did not come into its own in Luxembourg until after the Second World War, in the form of the Iconomaques (“iconoclasts”) collective. Their non-figurative style is represented in this collection with an early work by Michel Stoffel and works by Joseph Probst, François Gillen, Théo Kerg and sculptor Lucien Wercollier.

The ensemble is typical for a small country, in which a private collector still has the opportunity to put together a compendium of “national” art. Here aesthetic passion is accompanied by a sense of patriotism mirrored in the fact that the collection features Luxembourg artists only.

The collector acquired his works from art dealers and gallery owners, at auctions or directly from the artists or their families. Over time, oil paintings, drawings, watercolours and gouaches came to decorate a residential house, occupying their place amidst pieces of furniture and other objects, the “natural” environment they had been created for. As a result, the works are being showcased not in a classical museum setting, but rather a more private ambience.

The acquisition of the collection was made possible through the financial support of the Amis des Musées d’Histoire et d’Art Luxembourg.

Date

28 March > 9 October 2016

Das Museum in der guten Stube
Das Museum in der guten Stube
Das Museum in der guten Stube

Eine Sammlung Luxemburger Kunst des 20. Jahrhunderts
Eine Sammlung Luxemburger Kunst des 20. Jahrhunderts
Eine Sammlung Luxemburger Kunst des 20. Jahrhunderts

Die Ausstellung zeigt eine in mehrfacher Hinsicht repräsentative Sammlung von Werken Luxemburger Künstler des 20. Jahrhunderts, die von einem Einwohner der Stadt Luxemburg von den 1950er bis in die 1980er Jahre zusammengetragen wurde.

Die Sammlung umfasst 55 Arbeiten, darunter zwei Skulpturen. Zunächst reflektiert sie die Entwicklung der Kunst in Luxemburg seit der Jahrhundertwende bis zu den späten 1960er Jahren. Der Sammler besaß Werke aus den drei aufeinanderfolgenden, das Luxemburger Kunstschaffen prägenden Strömungen: Die Gemälde von Frantz Seimetz und Jean-Pierre Beckius sind Beispiele eines lange Zeit dominanten Spätimpressionismus. Nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg brechen junge, in München ausgebildete Maler mit dem Akademismus ihrer Vorgänger und orientieren sich am Stil der Moderne. In der Sammlung findet man mit Nico Klopp, Joseph Kutter, Jean Schaack, Jean Noerdinger und Auguste Trémont die Hauptvertreter dieser „Sezession“. Die abstrakte Malerei kommt in Luxemburg erst nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg zu ihrem Recht, in Form des Kollektivs der Iconomaques („Bilderstürmer“). Deren non-figurativer Stil ist in der Sammlung durch ein Frühwerk von Michel Stoffel sowie durch Joseph Probst, François Gillen, Théo Kerg und den Bildhauer Lucien Wercollier vertreten.

Das Ensemble ist typisch für ein kleines Land, in dem ein Privatsammler noch die Möglichkeit hat, sich ein Kompendium der „nationalen“ Kunst zusammenzustellen. Zum ästhetischen Interesse gesellt sich hier eine Form des Patriotismus, die dazu führt, dass ausschließlich Luxemburger Künstler gesammelt wurden.

Der Sammler erwarb seine Stücke bei Kunsthändlern und Galeristen, bei Versteigerungen oder direkt beim Künstler bzw. dessen Familie. Mit der Zeit dekorierten so Ölgemälde, Zeichnungen, Aquarelle und Gouachen ein Wohnhaus, mitten unter den Möbeln und anderen Objekten, gewissermaßen in der „natürlichen“ Umgebung, für die sie geschaffen worden waren. Die Ausstellung präsentiert die Werke daher auch nicht in klassisch-musealer Weise, sondern in einem eher privaten Ambiente.

Der Erwerb der Sammlung war nur möglich dank der finanziellen Unterstützung durch die Amis des Musées d’Histoire et d’Art Luxembourg.

Datum

28. März > 9. Oktober 2016