Leit an der Stad
Leit an der Stad
Leit an der Stad

Luxembourg Street Photography, 1950-2017
Luxembourg Street Photography, 1950-2017
Luxembourg Street Photography, 1950-2017

The exhibition showcases approximately 200 photographs featuring snapshots from everyday life in the public arena in Luxembourg City, from the 1950s to the present day. The common thread throughout all the images is that they are considered examples of ‘street photography’, which involves spontaneously capturing a given situation. Shots of random passers-by or groups of people become historical documents against the backdrop of the city, yet the atmosphere they exude and their composition also transcend their historical context.

The pictorial theme of the hustle and bustle on the streets of (big) cities is almost as old as photography itself, and yet the breakthrough in street photography did not occur until the advent of the compact camera, with the Leica launch in 1925.

The themes of the exhibition encompass those that have always been held dear by photographers and that characterise urban life to this day: the flâneur (a close relative of the street photographer), shops and display windows, the workplace, traffic and transport, leisure activities as well as festivals and traditions.

The photographs on display hail from the collections of the Luxembourg City Photographic Library, the collections of the Lëtzebuerg City Museum as well as private collections. Pol Aschman, Batty Fischer, Tony Krier, Édouard Kutter, Théo Mey, Marcel Schroeder and Marcel Tockert represent the “classics” of Luxembourg photography and photojournalism from the 1950s to the 1970s. Alongside more recent works from the 1990s and 2000s, six image series by current photography artists, among them the collective Street Photography Luxembourg, are also on display.

Much like the flâneur, visitors roam seven decades of images on a visual journey of the urban space, a space that is constantly changing, much like its inhabitants.

Date

6 October > 31 March 2019

Partners

Leit an der Stad
Leit an der Stad
Leit an der Stad

Luxembourg Street Photography, 1950-2017
Luxembourg Street Photography, 1950-2017
Luxembourg Street Photography, 1950-2017

Die Ausstellung zeigt mit ca. 200 Fotos Momentaufnahmen aus dem Alltag im öffentlichen Raum der Stadt Luxemburg, von den 1950er Jahren bis heute. Allen Bildern ist gemeinsam, dass man sie dem Genre der ‚Straßenfotografie‘ zuordnen kann, bei der es auf das spontane Erfassen einer besonderen Situation ankommt. Aufnahmen zufälliger Passanten oder Personengruppen werden vor der Kulisse der Stadt zu historischen Dokumenten, weisen aber durch ihre Atmosphäre und Komposition auch über den zeitlichen Kontext hinaus.

Das Bildthema des Lebens und Treibens auf den Straßen der (Groß-)Städte ist fast so alt wie die Fotografie selbst, doch erlebt die Straßenfotografie ihren Durchbruch erst mit dem Aufkommen der Kompaktkameras, deren erste 1925 die Leica ist.

Die Themen der Schau sind solche, die den Fotografen stets wichtig waren und die das städtische Leben bis heute prägen: der (dem street photographer eng verwandte) Flaneur, Geschäfte und Schaufenster, die Arbeitswelt, der Verkehr, Freizeitaktivitäten sowie Feste und Traditionen.

Die ausgestellten Fotografien stammen aus den Beständen der Fotothek der Stadt Luxemburg, den Sammlungen des Lëtzebuerg City Museum sowie aus Privatbesitz. Mit Pol Aschman, Batty Fischer, Tony Krier, Édouard Kutter, Théo Mey, Marcel Schroeder und Marcel Tockert sind die „Klassiker“ der Luxemburger (Reportage-)Fotografie der 1950er bis 1970er Jahre vertreten; neben jüngeren Aufnahmen der 1990er und 2000er Jahre werden auch sechs Bilderserien aktueller Luxemburger Fotokünstler, darunter das Kollektiv Street Photography Luxembourg, ausgestellt.

Der Besucher erlebt die Aufnahmen gleichsam als Flaneur durch sieben Jahrzehnte und durchstreift auf seinem visuellen Rundgang den sich mitsamt seinen Bewohnern in ständiger Veränderung befindlichen städtischen Raum.

Datum

6. Oktober > 31. März 2019

Partners