The Luxembourg Story
The Luxembourg Story
The Luxembourg Story

More than 1000 years of urban history
More than 1000 years of urban history
More than 1000 years of urban history

From 5 May 2017, the Lëtzebuerg City Museum presents its completely remodelled permanent exhibition The Luxembourg Story.


On the three lower levels of the museum as well as in a space devoted to the current town planning (2,200 m2 in total), the new exhibition tells the eventful history of the city of Luxembourg, from its origins in the 10th century to the present day. By following the chronology of urban development, divided into four major periods and 17 topics, the exhibition focuses on the most important and characteristic aspects of each epoch.

The exhibition provides local as well as foreign audiences with a concise introduction to the history of the city, with a corresponding selection of objects, films and sound documents, photographs and multimedia applications.

The "Future Outlook" section, near the museum’s reception, is devoted to the organization of the urban space: a large 1:2,500 scale 3D model as well as a multitouch table allow visitors to familiarize with present and future questions of urbanism.

In addition to more than 500 original objects, The Luxembourg Story offers several interactive features for further information. The visit is complemented by new multimedia animations of the urban scale models (1:666) which illustrate the key moments of the city’s history.


The topics:

10th to 18th century
The medieval town - The fortress - Citizens and soldiers - Churches and monasteries
19th century
The path to independence - The capital city - The end of the fortress - The open city - The industrial city - Trade in the city - The citizens’ city
20th century
The city in crisis - Under German occupation - The European city - The financial centre - The changing city
21st century
Future Outlook

The Luxembourg Story
The Luxembourg Story
The Luxembourg Story

Über 1000 Jahre Stadtgeschichte
Über 1000 Jahre Stadtgeschichte
Über 1000 Jahre Stadtgeschichte

Ab dem 5. Mai 2017 präsentiert das Lëtzebuerg City Museum seine komplett neugestaltete Dauerausstellung The Luxembourg Story.


Auf den drei unteren Ebenen des Museums sowie in einem der aktuellen Stadtplanung gewidmeten Raum (insgesamt 2.200 m2) erzählt die neue Ausstellung die bewegte Geschichte der Stadt Luxemburg, von den Anfängen im 10. Jahrhundert bis heute. Indem sie der historischen Chronologie der Stadtentwicklung folgt, die in vier Perioden und 17 Themen unterteilt wird, stellt die Schau die wichtigsten und markantesten Aspekte einer jeden Epoche in den Vordergrund.

Die Ausstellung bietet dem sowohl lokalen wie auch ausländischen Publikum eine kompakte Einführung in die Stadtgeschichte, mit einer entsprechenden Auswahl an Objekten, Filmen und Tondokumenten, Fotos und Multimedia-Anwendungen.

Der Bereich „Zukunftsperspektiven“, nahe beim Museumsempfang, widmet sich der Ordnung des städtischen Raumes: ein großes 3D-Modell im Maßstab 1:2.500 sowie ein interaktiver Medientisch erlauben es den Besuchern, sich mit gegenwärtigen und zukünftigen Fragen des Urbanismus vertraut zu machen.

Neben über 500 Originalobjekten weist The Luxembourg Story mehrere interaktive Stationen auf, an denen Informationen vertieft werden können. Neue Multimedia-Animationen der Modelle im Maßstab 1:666, welche die Stadt in historischen Schlüsselmomenten zeigen, bereichern den Rundgang.


Die Themen des Rundgangs:

10. bis 18. Jahrhundert
Die Stadt im Mittelalter – Die Festungsstadt – Bürger und Soldaten – Kirchen und Klöster
19. Jahrhundert
Der Weg in die Unabhängigkeit – Die Hauptstadt – Das Ende der Festung – Die offene Stadt – Die Industriestadt – Handel in der Stadt – Die Stadt der Bürger
20. Jahrhundert
Die Stadt in der Krise – Unter deutscher Besatzung – Die Europastadt – Der Finanzplatz – Die Stadt im Wandel
21. Jahrhundert
Zukunftsperspektiven