Leit an der Stad
Leit an der Stad
Leit an der Stad

Luxembourg Street Photography, 1950-2017
Luxembourg Street Photography, 1950-2017
Luxembourg Street Photography, 1950-2017

The exhibition showcases approximately 200 photographs featuring snapshots from everyday life in the public arena in Luxembourg City, from the 1950s to the present day. The common thread throughout all the images is that they are considered examples of ‘street photography’, which involves spontaneously capturing a given situation. Shots of random passers-by or groups of people become historical documents against the backdrop of the city, yet the atmosphere they exude and their composition also transcend their historical context.

The pictorial theme of the hustle and bustle on the streets of (big) cities is almost as old as photography itself, and yet the breakthrough in street photography did not occur until the advent of the compact camera, with the Leica launch in 1925.

The themes of the exhibition encompass those that have always been held dear by photographers and that characterise urban life to this day: the flâneur (a close relative of the street photographer), shops and display windows, the workplace, traffic and transport, leisure activities as well as festivals and traditions.

The photographs on display hail from the collections of the Luxembourg City Photographic Library, the collections of the Lëtzebuerg City Museum as well as private collections. Pol Aschman, Batty Fischer, Tony Krier, Édouard Kutter, Théo Mey, Marcel Schroeder and Marcel Tockert represent the “classics” of Luxembourg photography and photojournalism from the 1950s to the 1970s. Alongside more recent works from the 1990s and 2000s, six image series by current photography artists, among them the collective Street Photography Luxembourg, are also on display.

Much like the flâneur, visitors roam seven decades of images on a visual journey of the urban space, a space that is constantly changing, much like its inhabitants.

Date

6 October > 31 March 2019

Partners

Leit an der Stad
Leit an der Stad
Leit an der Stad

Luxembourg Street Photography, 1950-2017
Luxembourg Street Photography, 1950-2017
Luxembourg Street Photography, 1950-2017

Au travers de quelque 200 photos, l’exposition présente des instantanés du quotidien dans l’espace public de la ville de Luxembourg, des années 1950 à nos jours. Tous les clichés ont un point commun, ils s’apparentent au genre de la ‘photographie de rue’ qui cherche à saisir spontanément la singularité d’une situation. Les clichés de passants ou groupes de personnes fortuits avec la ville en arrière-plan deviennent des documents historiques tandis qu’en même temps, de par leur ambiance et leur composition, ils débordent du contexte temporel.

Le thème pictural de la vie et de l’animation dans les rues des (grandes) villes est presque aussi ancien que la photographie elle-même, mais la photographie de rue n’émerge qu’à l’apparition du petit format dont le premier, en 1925, est le Leica.

L’exposition s’attache aux thèmes de tous temps chers aux photographes et qui aujourd’hui encore continuent de marquer la vie urbaine : le flâneur (un proche parent du street photographer), les commerces et vitrines, le monde du travail, le va-et-vient, les activités de loisirs, les fêtes et traditions.

Les photographies exposées proviennent des collections de la Photothèque de la Ville de Luxembourg, de celles du Lëtzebuerg City Museum et de fonds privés. Avec Pol Aschman, Batty Fischer, Tony Krier, Édouard Kutter, Théo Mey, Marcel Schroeder et Marcel Tockert sont représentés les « classiques » de la photographie (de reportage) luxembourgeoise des années 1950 à 1970. Audelà de photos plus récentes des années 1990 à 2000 sont exposées six séries d’artistes photographes luxembourgeois contemporains, dont le collectif Street Photography Luxembourg.

Le visiteur vit les clichés tel le flâneur déambulant à travers sept décennies, et appréhende durant son parcours visuel l’espace urbain et ses habitants en perpétuelle évolution.

Date

6 octobre > 31 mars 2019

Partners