The Luxembourg Story
The Luxembourg Story
The Luxembourg Story

More than 1000 years of urban history
More than 1000 years of urban history
More than 1000 years of urban history

From 5 May 2017, the Lëtzebuerg City Museum presents its completely remodelled permanent exhibition The Luxembourg Story.


On the three lower levels of the museum as well as in a space devoted to the current town planning (2,200 m2 in total), the new exhibition tells the eventful history of the city of Luxembourg, from its origins in the 10th century to the present day. By following the chronology of urban development, divided into four major periods and 17 topics, the exhibition focuses on the most important and characteristic aspects of each epoch.

The exhibition provides local as well as foreign audiences with a concise introduction to the history of the city, with a corresponding selection of objects, films and sound documents, photographs and multimedia applications.

The "Future Outlook" section, near the museum’s reception, is devoted to the organization of the urban space: a large 1:2,500 scale 3D model as well as a multitouch table allow visitors to familiarize with present and future questions of urbanism.

In addition to more than 500 original objects, The Luxembourg Story offers several interactive features for further information. The visit is complemented by new multimedia animations of the urban scale models (1:666) which illustrate the key moments of the city’s history.


The topics:

10th to 18th century
The medieval town - The fortress - Citizens and soldiers - Churches and monasteries
19th century
The path to independence - The capital city - The end of the fortress - The open city - The industrial city - Trade in the city - The citizens’ city
20th century
The city in crisis - Under German occupation - The European city - The financial centre - The changing city
21st century
Future Outlook

The Luxembourg Story
The Luxembourg Story
The Luxembourg Story

Plus de 1000 ans d'histoire urbaine
Plus de 1000 ans d'histoire urbaine
Plus de 1000 ans d'histoire urbaine

À partir du 5 mai 2017, le Lëtzebuerg City Museum présente son exposition permanente complètement réaménagée, intitulée The Luxembourg Story.


Sur les trois niveaux inférieurs du musée ainsi que dans un espace dédié à l’urbanisme actuel (au total 2 200 m2), la nouvelle présentation raconte l’histoire mouvementée de la ville de Luxembourg, depuis les débuts au Xe siècle jusqu’à nos jours. En respectant la chronologie du développement divisée en quatre grandes périodes et 17 thèmes, l’exposition accentue les aspects historiques les plus importants et caractéristiques de chaque époque.

L’exposition propose au public – local et étranger – une introduction concise à l’histoire de la ville, avec une sélection correspondante d’objets, de films et documents sonores, de photos et d’applications multimédias.

La section « Perspectives d’avenir », près de l’accueil du musée, se consacre à l’organisation de l’espace urbain : une grande maquette 3D au 1/2500e et une table interactive permettront aux visiteurs de se familiariser avec les questions urbanistiques actuelles et futures.

Outre plus de 500 objets originaux, The Luxembourg Story propose plusieurs dispositifs interactifs permettant d’approfondir les informations. La visite est agrémentée par de nouvelles animations multimédia des maquettes urbaines au 1/666e qui ponctuent les moments-clés de l’histoire de la ville.


Les thèmes du parcours :

Xe au XVIIIe siècles
La ville au Moyen Âge – La forteresse – Citoyens et soldats – Églises, couvents et monastères
XIXe siècle
La marche vers l’indépendance – La capitale – La fin de la forteresse – Luxembourg, ville ouverte – La ville industrielle – Le commerce au cœur de la ville – La ville et ses habitants
XXe siècle
La ville dans la tourmente – Sous l’occupation allemande – La capitale européenne – La place financière – La ville en mutation
XXIe siècle
Perspectives d’avenir