14, rue du Saint-Esprit
The panoramic lift is a fascinating example of the successful adaptation of an old building to the expectations of modern-day museum visitors. The glass cage of the lift passes through the entire height of the museum. The cage is a room in itself, with a surface area of 18 m2, and can hold up to 65 people. Thanks to its transparent walls and reduced pace, the public is able to admire the rock foundations visible on the lower levels and the panoramic view of the Grund district and Rham plateau on the upper levels. The lift travels through more than 1000 years of history in a few minutes, showing the urban stratification of the city of Luxembourg throughout the centuries.
Architecture: Conny Lentz - 1996
Architecture and museography : Adeline Rispal and Jean-Jacques Raynaud for Repérages - 1996