Schwaarz Konscht
Schwaarz Konscht
Schwaarz Konscht

The imagery of 16th- to 19th-century firebacks
The imagery of 16th- to 19th-century firebacks
The imagery of 16th- to 19th-century firebacks

The exhibition highlights the extraordinary collection of the former director of the Eich ironworks Édouard Metz (1831–1895), who during his lifetime collected about three hundred 16th- to 19th-century firebacks and stove plates, produced in the old Duchy of Luxembourg and neighbouring areas.

Since the 19th century, firebacks have been sought-after collectibles. In the museum, they give an insight into the material life and mentalities of past times: from the production of iron, the living conditions and heating technology to the iconography and the artistic models of the motifs shown on them (with reference to religion, heraldry, mythology and historical events) or to the sociability around the fireplace, a place for fairy tales and folklore.
Since the firebacks represent robust objects, visitors can touch some of the pieces; thus the visit can also be experienced by people with visual impairments. An attractive design as well as various media terminals invite to a playful discovery of the imagery of firebacks.
The Édouard Metz Collection is on kind loan from the Fondation Veuve Émile Metz-Tesch.


Date

4 October > 28 June 2020

Die Ausstellung zeigt die außergewöhnliche Sammlung von Édouard Metz (1831–1895), ehemals Direktor des Eicher Eisenwerkes, der zu Lebzeiten ca. 300 Taken- und Ofenplatten aus dem 16. bis 19. Jahrhundert sammelte, hergestellt im alten Herzogtum Luxemburg und angrenzenden Gebieten.

Seit dem 19. Jahrhundert waren Takenplatten begehrte Sammelobjekte. Im Museum geben sie heute Einblick in das materielle Leben und die Mentalitäten vergangener Zeiten: von der Eisenproduktion über Wohnverhältnisse und Heiztechnik bis hin zur Ikonographie und den künstlerischen Vorbildern der darauf gezeigten Motive (mit Bezug auf Religion, Heraldik, Mythologie und historische Ereignisse) oder auch der Geselligkeit rund um die Feuerstelle, einem Ort für Märchen und Folklore.
Da die Taken robuste Objekte darstellen, können die Besucher einige der Stücke anfassen ; so wird der Besuch auch für Menschen mit einer Sehbehinderung erfahrbar. Eine attraktive Gestaltung sowie diverse Medienstationen laden zu einer spielerischen Entdeckungsreise durch die Bilderwelt der Taken ein.

Die Sammlung Édouard Metz ist eine freundliche Leihgabe der Fondation Veuve Émile Metz-Tesch.

Datum

4. October > 28. June 2020