Since the early 19th century, several thousand associations have been founded in Luxembourg’s capital, of which only a small number exist to this day. Nevertheless, the end of the “club phenomenon” is not in sight. Associations continue to play an important role: they address all social classes and cover the most diverse activities. Starting from the premise that every association is a reflection of the society in which it was founded, the exhibition shows the long history of Luxembourg’s associative life through selected examples.
The exhibition starts with the precursors of the associations in the Ancien Régime, the brotherhoods and the Freemasons, whereas the roots of the “modern” associations go back to the beginning of the 19th century, when several reading societies were founded. After the constitution of 1848 granted the Luxembourgers freedom of association, numerous sports and cultural clubs were formed, which became a phenomenon in society as a whole. Their success continued until the German occupation during the Second World War. After the war, most of the clubs resumed their activities.

In cooperation with various associations located on the territory of Luxembourg City, this exhibition presents a variety of historical objects from the possession of active or already disbanded associations.

A catalogue will be published in conjunction with the exhibition.

Date

25 March > 15 January 2023

Depuis le début du 19e siècle, la capitale compte plusieurs milliers de fondations d’associations, dont seule une fraction existe encore, sans que la fin du phénomène associatif soit en vue. Le secteur associatif continue de jouer un rôle important : il touche toutes les couches sociales et couvre les domaines d’activités les plus divers. En partant du principe que chaque association est un miroir de la société dans laquelle elle est créée, l’exposition présente la longue histoire du monde associatif luxembourgeois à l’aide d’exemples choisis.
À titre d’introduction, les précurseurs du monde associatif sous l’Ancien Régime – confréries et francs-maçons – sont évoqués. Les origines du secteur associatif « moderne » remontent au début du 19e siècle quand plusieurs sociétés de lecture voient le jour. Après que la Constitution accorda en 1848 « aux Luxembourgeois le droit de s’associer », de nombreuses associations sportives et culturelles ont été fondées et le phénomène associatif touche rapidement l’ensemble de la société. Suit une véritable success story qui ne prend fin que sous l’Occupation (1940–1945). Après la guerre, la majorité des associations reprennent leurs activités.

En collaboration avec de nombreuses associations ayant leur siège sur le territoire de la ville de Luxembourg, cette exposition réunit une variété d’objets historiques en provenance d’associations actives ou déjà dissoutes.

Date

25 mars > 15 janvier 2023